President 2022 2023


Heather Wagonblott has been the Finance Director of the Village of Channahon for almost 9 years.  Her accounting career began in 1995 working as a full-time bookkeeper throughout college.  After graduating college in December 1998, she worked for a public accounting firm for almost 11 years where she specialized in audits of local governments, state agencies, and nonprofits.  Prior to working at the Village of Channahon, Heather had worked at two other Illinois municipalities.

Heather has been a member of IMTA since 2016.  She attended the IML conference in 2015 and learned of IMTA when she was walked past the booth and was given information about the Association.  After reviewing the brochure and the copy of Prime Times, she recognized the benefits of being a member of IMTA.  She has been a Certified Illinois Municipal Treasurer (CIMT) since November 2018 and is proud to serve on the Executive Board.

President's Message

The Illinois Municipal Treasurers Association provides its members the resources to become great Treasurers.  Those resources provide treasurers and other municipal finance professionals with the necessary skills to complete the annual duties of the position like oversee audits, levy taxes, prepare budgets, and invest cash.  Efficiently and effectively completing the responsibilities of a treasurer helps preserve taxpayer resources and also provides residents and businesses the fiscal transparency that is expected from local governments.

IMTA doesn’t just make great Treasurers, it makes great leaders and fiscally responsible individuals.  The IMTA encourages the development of the additional skills needed to identify projects within local governments that can be tackled and, when accomplished, can mean a difference to the residents and businesses within a community.

The members of IMTA work hard to provide useful and relevant information to its members on a continual basis.  During my term, I would like to continue the successes of the Association that have been established by previous treasurers and members.  I will strive to attract members to become involved in committees and fill vacancies.  I would also like to help reach out to other municipal treasurers and finance professionals that could benefit from joining the Association.

If you are not a member of IMTA, please consider joining to benefit you and your municipality.  If you are already an IMTA member, but not yet on a committee, and want to learn more about how you can give back to the Association, please reach out to me or one of the other IMTA board members.  Your contribution to IMTA is greatly appreciated and helps inspire future generations of governmental financial leaders.

Heather Wagonblott, CIMT
IMTA President
Finance Director – Village of Channahon

President's Award

Plaque Engravement: In Recognition of Outstanding Leadership and Dedicated Service. The Illinois Municipal Treasurers Association is Forever Grateful.


Kent Oliven

Institute Niccy Cook Belleville

Kent Oliven

Conference Call Scott Borror Glen Carbon

Dean Hardt

Grizzly Jack's, Utica IL Michael Peterson Lincolnshire

Michael Peterson

Crowne Plaza, Springfield IL Gail Valle Granite City

Alta Long

Holiday Inn, Carbondale IL Michael Peterson Lincolnshire

Scott Borror

Hilton Gardens, Champaign IL Ron Vander Band Plano

Gail Valle

Hilton, Chicago IL Richard Barrett Wells Fargo Advisor

Clint Lichtenwalter

Sheraton, Fairview Heights IL Jack Walde Algonquin

Janice Colvin

Hilton, Springfield IL JoEllen Hickenbottom Eastern IL Univ.
2011/12 Kenneth Robinson Eagle Ridge Resort, Galena IL

Brad Bettenhausen

Tinley Park


Ron Vander Band

Hilton Garden Inn, Champaign IL Michael Peterson Lincolnshire